Savannah River Operations Office Banner


For Immediate Release May 7, 2004
Media Contact: Bill Taylor   (803) 952-7697


Wackenhut Services - Savannah River Site Excels at
"Carolina Challenge" Security Police Competition

Flag Ribbon Art


Aiken, SC - The Wackenhut Services -Savannah River Site (WSI-SRS) was awarded the Secretary's Trophy for first place Security Police Officer Team and Casey Petosky earned Security Police Officer of the Year at the Department of Energy's (DOE) 32nd Annual Security Police Officer Training Competition (SPOTC) "Carolina Challenge," that was held May 2 - 6, at the Savannah River Site (SRS). The two awards were presented to the WSI-SRS team and Security Police Officer Petosky by the Energy Secretary Spencer Abraham at a ceremony here.

SPOTC is a tactically oriented security firearms competition sponsored by the DOE Office of Security. Competition events included individual and team firearms competition, tactical training and physical fitness.

The "Carolina Challenge" had approximately 200 security police officers, representing the DOE sites, U.S. military, local police forces and a team from the United Kingdom.

WSI-SRS team members include Security Police Officers Casey Petosky, Billy Reynolds, Douglas Scott, Mike Weaver, Ryan Strader, and Cliff Melton. Sergeant Clay Bryant is the team captain.

Special Police Officer Petosky, 24, is an Augusta, Georgia native. He has been employed by WSI-SRS since November 2003, after serving with the United States Marine Corps for five years.

WSI-SRS Security Police Officers Billy Reynolds and Douglas Scott finished second and fifth respectively in the DOE Security Police Officer of the Year competition. Douglas Scott won the honor in 2002. WSI-SRS has captured SPO of the Year on four previous occasions; 1991, 1994, 1998 and 2002. The WSI-SRS team captured the Secretary's Trophy for the fifth time (previously won in 1984, 1985, 1986, 1991).

The Secretary's Trophy second place went to the DOE Pantex facility, third place to Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, fourth place to the Hanford facility and fifth place to the Nevada Test Site.




| Back |