For Immediate Release April 13, 2007
Media Contact: Julie Petersen
(803) 952-7697


Savannah River Site Employees Honored with

Presidentís Volunteer Service Award


AIKEN, S.C., Ė The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has honored several Savannah River Site (SRS) employees with the Presidentís Volunteer Service Award (PVSA) for their notable volunteerism and civic participation.

ďIt is an honor to be part of a work family whose members give so selflessly to help make a positive difference in othersí lives,Ē said DOE-Savannah River Operations Manager Jeffrey Allison.

 In his 2002 State of the Union address, President George W. Bush issued a challenge to all Americans to make time to help their neighbors, communities, and Nation through service.  The Presidentís Volunteer Service Award is issued by the Presidentís Council on Service and Civic Participation on behalf of the President to thank and honor Americans, who by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to improve their communities through service.

 As a Certifying Organization for the Presidentís Volunteer Service Award Program, DOE can grant awards for the community service efforts of federal employees, contractors, and members of the general public.  There are three levels and four categories of the PVSA, varying by age and hours of service completed within any consecutive 12-month period.  Additionally, individuals completing 4,000 hours or more of volunteer service over the course of their lifetime are recognized with the Presidentís Call to Service Award.  

 In conjunction with the Presidentís designation of April 15-21, 2007 , as Volunteer Service Week, DOE recognized the following nineteen SRS employees and two family members with a Presidentís Volunteer Service Award for their selfless dedication and commitment to helping others:  

Call to Service Awardees (4,000+ hours) 

Glenn A. Mathues

James R. Luhring

William T. Elliott

Gold Awardees (500+ hours)

Gary M. Haas

Silver Awardees (250-499 hours)

William E. Jones

Paul S. Korinko

Alfred C. Ward

Linda De La Paz

Patrick Kyle Kilroy, II

Heather Fristick

Kevin J. Stoner

Bronze Awardees (100-249 hours)

Susan Collins

R. Paul Farrow

Nancy H. Fenstermacher

Ed Petty

Jeffrey Wallace Ray

William Wabbersen

George Milton Widener

David L. Allen

Kids Bronze Awardees (50-74 hours)

Jolene Long

Katherine Long






| Back |